Living word for 17-October-2022. “We learn from the prayer of Jeremiah.”

Today we take our study from a prayer made by the prophet Jeremiah so we learn something from it. The scripture says in Jeremiah 10:23-25 that, “LORD, I know that people’s lives are not their own; it is not for them to direct their steps.” For starters we learn that our lives aren’t our own, it’s God who gives life so our lives belong to the LORD and through this its the LORD who orders or directs our steps, no wonder the scripture says in psalms 37:23 that, “The LORD makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him.” Turn this into a prayer and say, LORD I know my life isn’t my own please teach me to live according to your will because my life belongs to you, I delight in you, please order my steps so whatever I do is for your glory.

It adds, “Discipline me, LORD, but only in due measure — not in your anger, or you will reduce me to nothing.” To discipline means to, “To train someone by instruction and practice or To teach someone to obey authority or To punish someone in order to regain control and lastly to impose order on someone.” So since we know that God disciplines those he loves we pray to him to discipline us in due measure, not in anger because we cannot hear his wrath but in mercy giving us punishments that won’t break us and reduce us to nothing but those that will make us learn from our mistakes so we don’t repeat them again.

It adds, “Pour out your wrath on the nations that do not acknowledge you, on the peoples who do not call on your name. For they have devoured Jacob; they have devoured him completely and destroyed his homeland.” He then implores the LORD to instead pour his wrath on nations that don’t acknowledge God, those that don’t accept God to be their savior. Also on people who don’t call on the name of the LORD. Make sure your not caught in this category of people who will face the wrath of God, those that don’t acknowledge the LORD or those that don’t call on the name of the LORD.

Fellow child of God, pick a leaf from this prayer and make it your prayer. Pray to the LORD to order or direct your steps everyday, pray to that LORD to discipline you in due measure like a child and not an enemy. Strive to acknowledge God and also to acknowledge his holy name.

Be blessed
✍🏾✍🏾✍🏾
Twitter: @nellyville217
Facebook: Nellyville Wanyama
📧Email: wanyanelson217@gmail.com

Published by nelson

Down to earth person, I owe my allegiance to Jesus Christ, it's by His grace that I am what I am today. It's a pleasure to share his word daily

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started